How to stop Google coming from storing your location history 

Even if a user turned off their location history, information stored through those location markers could still paint a clear picture about their physical whereabouts over time. For example, clicking on of which location marker opened up a Google Maps display of which showed exactly where I was when I made of which search query.

While Google’s Location History is actually turned off by default, the web along with also app activity tracking is actually turned on by default. Without checking their “my activity” page, a user might never know of which Google apps along with also websites are storing their location information.

To retroactively delete all the location data stored on you, you will either need to delete each individual item of which includes a location marker (the map pin icon from the picture above) or delete all your history.

When asked why Google doesn’t make the item clearer of which pausing location history doesn’t stop location information coming from being stored, the company sent a statement pointing out of which its message to users says of which “some location data may be saved as part of your activity on some other Google services, like Search along with also Maps.”

However, of which message doesn’t give any indication on how to turn off of which additional location logging, which seems like an obvious privacy oversight.

Google uses location history to let advertisers track whether their ads drove people to their stores along with also to let advertisers target people in narrow geographic areas. the item also powers Maps features such as “well-liked Times,” which can tell users how busy a restaurant or store usually is actually at a given time.

Turning off location along with also web along with also app activity tracking will make products such as Maps along with also Google’s smart assistant less personalized, yet for the privacy conscious, the decreased convenience may be worth the item. (Here are some other ways to stop Google coming from tracking your online activity.)

To turn off location history on a device level too, go into “Settings” on your phone, along with also look for “privacy” along with also “location services” categories.

Even if you do of which, you won’t be off the map completely: Any phone connected to a cellular network or Wi-Fi will still transmit your general location to your carrier.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

seventeen − two =