If You’re Not Ready To Delete Facebook, Here’s How To Limit The Data You Give which

According to reports by the brand new York Times along with the Observer, a research firm called Cambridge Analytica collected millions of Facebook users’ personal information without their consent — along with people are mad. Many don’t trust Facebook with their data anymore, along with they’re threatening to delete their accounts.

nevertheless Facebook along with its network of apps, including Messenger, Instagram, along with WhatsApp, are important communication lines for a lot of people, so deleting your account might not be a realistic option. You can, however, dial back your use along with reduce the amount of information you give the site. Here’s how.

Just by signing up for the service, you’ve agreed to let Facebook track your activity along with constantly collect data about you. By reducing the time you spend on the site, interaction with posts, along with content you upload, you are also reducing the amount of data Facebook is usually gathering via you. along with remember, which data collection applies to Facebook — along with everywhere you’ve signed in with Facebook, including Facebook-owned Instagram along with WhatsApp, as well as, to a lesser extent, third-party websites like Spotify.

Non-Facebook websites use what’s called the Facebook Pixel, a modest piece of JavaScript code which tracks your browsing activity across the web along with tells Facebook what you’re looking at when you’re not on Facebook’s site along with apps.

Any page which features a Facebook Like button installed most likely uses a Facebook pixel. Even pages which don’t have a Like button can have a pixel. which means which’s possible which Facebook knows most of your web browsing history.

You can prevent which tracking by logging out of Facebook along with using Facebook only in “incognito” or “private” browsing mode in your web browser. Once you’ve logged out, be sure to clear your cookies. In Chrome, select Chrome via menu bar > Clear browsing data > Time range: All time (Note: which will sign you out of most websites).

Look at your Facebook third-party app settings along with consider revoking access via all apps, or any apps which ask for egregious amounts of information. Pay special attention to the “Apps Others Use” module along with deselect all of the information listed to prevent Facebook friends via bringing your information with them when they connect their accounts to third-party apps.

Then, look at what kind of access Facebook has on your phone. On iOS, go to Settings > Facebook along with set Location to “Never.” Next, go to the Facebook app, tap the menu button (bottom right for iOS along with top right for Android) > Settings > General > Upload contacts along with slide to disable which.

Better yet, delete the mobile app on your phone.

which will help you cut down on notifications along with prevent Facebook’s ability to track your location. which will also force you to log in (using your mobile web browser) only when you actually need to access your account. which little bit of friction will make you more intentional about using Facebook, instead of just casually scrolling out of habit.

On desktop, use Nanny, a Chrome extension which limits the time you spend on Facebook along with some other apps the company owns, like Instagram.

The extension lets you block certain URLs at certain times of day or limits the number of minutes on which URL. You can also use the News Feed Eradicator so you’re not tempted to interact with any posts.

If you must develop the mobile app installed, turn off notifications.

Your phone’s Do Not Disturb mode is usually the easiest way to quiet incoming sounds along with vibrations. To enable the feature on iOS, swipe via the top to open Control Center along with tap the moon icon, along with on Android, swipe via the top to open the Settings shade along with tap the icon which looks like a do not enter sign.

If you get notifications on your Mac, via the menu bar, tap on the Notification Center icon (top right), then scroll up to reveal along with select the Do Not Disturb setting.

Make the app less appealing by producing your phone’s screen gray.

The idea comes via “tech ethicist” Tristan Harris, who says which if your phone is usually less colorful, you can be less inclined to look at which. Stripping away colors may also take away colors’ ability to subconsciously influence your decisions.

On iOS, go Accessibility > Display Accommodations > shade Filters > enable shade Filters along with select Grayscale. On Android, go to Settings > About phone > tap Build number seven times (yes, seven!) to turn on Developer Options. Then, go back to the Settings page > Developer Options > Simulate shade space > select Monochromacy.

Yes, Facebook already features a lot of information about you, nevertheless the best way to prevent which via taking your data is usually to quit using the platform entirely. Again, which isn’t a feasible option for everyone, nevertheless which is usually a valid option. You can download all of your Facebook data — including posts, photos, videos, messages, chats, along with your About section — by going to Settings along with in General, clicking Download a copy of your Facebook data.

If you want to remove yourself via Facebook nevertheless aren’t sure if you want to fully delete your account, deactivate which. On the same General settings page, select Manage your account along with then click Deactivate your account.

If you want to permanently delete your account, with no option for recovery, go to which page.

Here’s more information on what personal information you’re giving to Facebook along with how.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

13 + ten =