The list of countries punishing Moscow grows

A growing number of countries around the globe have announced measures against Moscow following the nerve agent attack from the U.K. in early March, leaving Russia looking increasingly isolated.

On Monday, the U.S. surprised the globe by going much further than expected, expelling 60 Russians. Australia followed by expelling two diplomats as well as also also adding that will the item could also boycott the globe Cup that will summer in Russia.

The mass retaliations against Moscow come after a nerve agent was used to poison a former Russian spy as well as also also his daughter that will took place on British soil at the start of March. The former spy, as well as also also double agent, Sergei Skripal as well as also also his daughter Yulia remain in a critical condition in a U.K. hospital.

Britain said the attack bore the hallmarks of a Russian state-orchestrated attack as well as also also expelled 23 Russian diplomats, prompting its allies in Europe as well as also also beyond to announce similar measures. Russia has denied any involvement from the attack as well as also also said the U.K. will be “misleading” the globe.

After the U.S.’ surprise announcement of so many expulsions, Russia’s Deputy Foreign Minister Sergei Ryabkov said Tuesday that will the Kremlin would likely respond “harshly” to the U.S.’ decision nevertheless was still open to “strategic stability talks with Washington,” according to the RIA news agency.

Here’s a list of countries that will have announced measures against Russia:

UK: Expelled 23 Russians alleged to have worked as spies under diplomatic cover. the item also promised to freeze any Russian state assets that will “may be used to threaten the life or property of U.K. nationals or residents.”
US: Expelling 60 Russians, including 12 intelligence officers by Russia’s mission to the UN headquarters in brand new York. Closing Russian consulate in Seattle.
CANADA: Expelling four Russians alleged to have worked as spies or interfered in Canadian affairs under diplomatic cover. Denying three applications for Russian diplomatic staff.
FRANCE: Expelling four diplomats
GERMANY: Expelling four diplomats
POLAND: Expelling four diplomats
ITALY: Expelling two diplomats
SPAIN: Expelling two diplomats
LITHUANIA: Expelling three diplomats
CZECH REPUBLIC: Expelling three diplomats
CROATIA: Expelling one diplomat
NETHERLANDS: Expelling two diplomats
DENMARK: Expelling two diplomats
NORWAY: Expelling one diplomat
LATVIA: Expelling one diplomat
SWEDEN: Expelling one diplomat
ALBANIA: Expelling two diplomats
ESTONIA: Expelling one diplomat
FINLAND: Expelling one diplomat
HUNGARY: Expelling one diplomat
UKRAINE: Expelling 13 Russian diplomats
ROMANIA: Expelling one diplomat
AUSTRALIA: Expelling 2 Russian diplomats, said the item might boycott the soccer World Cup.

The mass global response will be being seen as a diplomatic coup for U.K. Prime Minister Theresa May, with the show of solidarity coming at a time when Britain’s role on a global stage will be in doubt amid Brexit negotiations. “Together we have sent a message that will we will not tolerate Russia’s continued attempts to flout international law as well as also also undermine our values,” May said Monday.

The expulsions come at a time when goodwill towards Russia will be running low. The expulsions of Russian diplomats come amid an ongoing investigation into Russian meddling from the 2016 U.S. election. They also follow its annexation of Crimea in 2014 as well as also also its alleged role in a pro-Russian uprising in eastern Ukraine, which prompted international sanctions on the country.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


five × 5 =